The education system in Alberta covers elementary, secondary and post-secondary education. Education throughout Canada is governed by each provincial and territorial government, so there are slight differences between each province's education system.

With the exception of Quebec, all provinces provide universal, free elementary and secondary schooling for 12 years.

Pre-School: Kindergarten (students aged 4-6).

Elementary: Grades 1 - 6 (students aged 6 -12)

Secondary: Junior High (middle school) covers grades 7-9 (ages 12-15), and Senior High covers grades 10-12 (ages 15-18).

Post-secondary: Post-secondary education in Alberta includesuniversities, colleges, polytechnic institutes and grad school.

Language programs: Language programs (English or French as a second language) are offered at middle schools, high schools, colleges, universities and private language schools throughout Alberta. You can read more on these school types in the appropriate sections of this website.

School districts: Alberta is divided into 62 public school districts, which may be French or English, which in turn have school boards (elected officials) that implement policy and provincial curriculum. A school district usually serves one or more cities or towns, depending on their size.

Religious affiliation: Schools in Alberta may be secular (no religious affiliation), Catholic or Christian (various Protestant denominations).

Public and private: Alberta's education system includes public schools, which are free and funded by the government, and private schools, for which students have to pay. At the post-secondary level, public colleges and universities still require students to pay tuition, but it is substantially less than tuition at private universities.